Prohibiting Changes and Unlocking Returns

If you have the permission right to edit tax returns, you can lock returns manually by using the Prohibit Changes feature. Other staff are then prevented from editing the locked return so you can finalize or review the return without risk of data changing. However, you can electronically file extensions and purge notes of manually locked returns in Batch Manager.

In addition, the system automatically locks returns in the following situations:

  • Returns are open and in use by other staff.
  • Returns are being processed in a Batch Manager job.
  • Returns were closed unexpectedly by another process, such as a session timeout or server maintenance.

Locked returns display in view-only mode for review purposes. Locked returns cannot be edited, calculated, or recalculated. Locked returns in a consolidated unit cannot be group calculated. Staff can do certain actions that would not cause changes to the tax return, such as exporting data and viewing return history.

Returns that were locked manually are indicated in the grid by a locked icon, .

Returns that were locked automatically are indicated in the grid by a warning icon,.

Prohibiting Changes (Manual Lock)

To prohibit changes to a return, do one of the following:

  • In Return Manager, do the following:
    1. Select a return from the Returns grid.
    2. Click Prohibit Changes in the Manage group on the Home tab above the grid. The activity log in return history is updated. The following occurs:
      • A locked icon,, displays in the grid to indicate other staff cannot edit the return.
      • Prohibit Changes displays in the Read Only column, if that column is selected to display in the grid.
      • The activity log in return history is updated.
  • From an open return, select Prohibit Changes in the Security group on the Manage tab. The activity log in return history is updated.

Note: When you use Save As to create a return, the Prohibit Changes setting, if applied, is not saved with the new return.

Unlocking Returns

The method of unlocking a return depends on whether the return was locked manually or automatically.

Manually Locked Returns

If a return was locked manually, clear Prohibit Changes to enable changes to the return. The activity log in return history is updated.

If a return was locked using Prohibit Changes, do one of the following:

  • In Return Manager, select the return in the Returns grid and click Prohibit Changes to enable changes to the return. The activity log in return history is updated.
  • In a tax return, clear Prohibit Changes in the Security group on the Manage tab. The activity log in return history is updated.

Note: You must have the Remove lock to prevent changes functional right assigned to clear Prohibit Changes if another staff selected it.

Automatically Locked Returns

Select one or more automatically locked returns that are indicated by the warning icon, . and click Unlock above the Returns grid.

If you are unlocking multiple returns, the Return Unlock Files window displays the name, ID, and unlock status of each return. If an exception occurs, a description is provided. The report includes the following options:

  • Print the report contents to any printer device configured for your machine.
  • Export the report contents to save the information in a Microsoft® Excel® file.
  • Find specific values in the report. Enter the complete criteria to search for specific returns or partial information to search for similar matches.

To unlock a return that was locked automatically by the system, do the following:

  1. Select one or more returns to unlock in the Return Manager grid.
  2. Select Unlock > In-Use in the Manage group on the Home tab.

Notes:

  • You must have the Remove lock on in use return functional right permission assigned to use the Unlock feature.
  • Unlocked returns are closed automatically for other staff who are using them.